Status update

Ok, I thought it might be useful to put a status update page up, so everyone knows exactly what’s happening with the site. There are a number of steps I need to do to get back to 100% full functionality again.

    1- Find and organise all the back up discs.

Current status: 1% (Basically me looking at hundreds of discs in the corner of the room and going “uuurrgghhh”.)

No mean feat, with over 8000 files all on 4gb dvds and shoved into boxes… unlabelled too (what was I thinking?!?) it will take some time to find stuff again. Combine that with real life and a busy job… well, yup, it may take some time.

    2- Find an easy, safe way of sharing.

Current status: 0% (although I have a few rough ideas.)

I reckon that by the time I’ve found and organised the files, I’ll have a better idea of where we all stand with this issue.

    3- Begin uploading again.

Current status: 0%

At the moment, I am NOT uploading/sharing any files at all.

About Murun

Gradually converting my old cassettes into mp3 for your listening pleasure! View all posts by Murun

19 responses to “Status update

  • adam

    This is not an empty gesture but will sound exactly like one – ‘if there’s anything I can do just let me know’.

    youre right of course and I’m glad youve done what you have…..I’ve downloaded tons of stuff from your site and have them on itunes…I can give you a list…If theres anything I can do with them please dont hesitate.

    • Murun

      It’s nice to know the files are out there at least, safe in the hands of other collectors 🙂

      It’s just tricky to work out where we’re going with the sharing issue right now.

  • kflip

    do you have bbc 6mix 2011-08-07 pretty pleaase?

  • Jay Embery

    Murun,

    Did you ever record PlayTalk, Mike Mendoza, Mike Dickin, Charley Wolf or any other Talksport or Tommy Boyd? It might be that I have these already as mp3’s and could save you time.

    Jember

  • Jay Embery

    Oh, I downloaded a lot from your site. Do you want them back on DVD?

    Cheers,

    Jay

  • timmi x

    i was a big fan from this site back some years ago. but i missed to dll stuff.
    what I wouldn’t give to have the chance again to download especially full early 90s evening sessions with mark goddier, also with steve & joe. the chillout zone with annie nightingale, mark & lard…
    can you help after all these years?

    • Murun

      Hi, thank you for your kind words! I’d forgotten all about this to be honest and yes, I still have everything, tucked away on cds and cassettes.
      Maybe I ought to start uploading again… Just need to find a suitable host for the files and the time to do it all. I shall think on it and thank you for re-sparking my enthusiasm!

  • timmi x

    🙂
    it’d be terrific if you find time to upload stuff.
    i just thought about mixcloud or zippyshare to host.
    but maybe you know a better alternative to…
    If there’s any news, please let me know 🙂

  • jay embery

    Well, if it is any encouragement, I am thinking about uploading old Talkradio, Nick abbot and a whole bunch of stuff – mega.nz seems to be the best bet.

  • Timmi X-Laughter

    still hoping…
    in the meantime, i found this on mixcloud. it was like a dreamy time travel when i listened…

    what I’d give to hear more stuff like this!

  • timm

    still thinking of this great blog from some years ago…
    maybe when it’s getting autumn/winter, you’ll find time to!?

  • timm

    happy 2020!
    still hoping for some news in this new decade…:-)
    cheers!

  • timmi x

    still thoughts of this great site…

    maybe one day, you‘ll find time to re-activate this fantastic archive…!?

    I’m still hoping…

  • timmi x

    @murun

    i’m bit ashamed to write here again…
    my mind think about this site from time to time, automatically!
    and it didn’t seems to stop.

    still hope, the enthusiasm i re-sparked in you didn’t died completely?

    is there still no chance to…?
    wish i could do anything to get this precious treasures from back in the (radio)days or i could help to upload stuff or similar !?

    hope you’re well and healthy !
    i’d love to hear/read some positive news about this site in these strange times…

  • timm

    2 years later, i won’t give up 😀
    what would i give to listen to especially
    the evening sessions with mark goodier (1990 – 1993),
    again !
    @murun – maybe sometime in this life, there’s a chance to fulfil this heart’s desire and make these recordings available, again 🙏

Leave a comment